Exam facts & prep options

Kansas Life, Accident and Health Insurance Producer Examination (combined)

The Kansas Life, Accident and Health Insurance Producer Examination is the combined insurance producer licensing exam covering Kansas's Life and Accident and Health or Sickness lines of authority. It is owned by the Kansas Department of Insurance and delivered at Pearson VUE testing centers for a USD 64 major-line-combination exam fee; Kansas has no pre-licensing education requirement, scores are valid for two years, and retakes require a seven-day wait. The exam-specific question count, testing time, and passing score are published only in the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook PDF and K.A.R. 40-7-13, not on any accessible official HTML page.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Exam feeUSD 64 for major line combination exams (the combined Life, Accident and Health examination is a major line combination exam); USD 57 for limited line/single exams; the fee is paid at registration/scheduling through Pearson VUE (separate from the USD 10 NIPR application fee and USD 60 fingerprint/background fee for the license application)

Prep options

Study resources for KS Life, Accident & Health Exam

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
KDOI
Category
Life & Health Insurance Licensing
Current version
Not publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Where it applies
US-KS, United States
Exam languages
English
Testing provider
Pearson VUE
Format
Administered at physical Pearson VUE / Pearson Professional testing centers (locations in Kansas and nationwide); no online-proctored option is offered on the official Kansas program pages
Availability
Year-round by appointment at Pearson VUE testing centers in Kansas and nationwide; appointments may be made up to one calendar day prior to the desired test date, subject to availability
Score validity
Licensing test scores are valid for two years from the date of examination
Remote testing
Not available

Exam structure

One combined examination covering both the Life line and the Accident and Health or Sickness line of authority, as an alternative to taking the two individual line examinations; per K.S.A. 40-241 the examination determines whether the applicant 'possesses the competence and knowledge of the kinds of insurance and transactions under the license applied for', including the duties of the license and relevant Kansas law. The per-topic content outline is published only as a PDF, not on any accessible official HTML page.

Where rules vary

Kansas insurance producer licensing examination; passing the combined Life, Accident and Health examination qualifies a candidate for the Kansas Life and Accident and Health or Sickness major lines of authority on a Kansas resident or nonresident producer license

Eligibility

None for the examination itself — Kansas has no pre-licensing education requirement, so candidates may sit for the exam without a prep course; the exam may be required as part of the producer license application, which separately requires being at least 18 years old, a Kansas Certificate of Tax Clearance, the NIPR uniform application, fingerprints, and a background check

Retake policy

No limit on the number of retakes; a seven-day waiting period is required between attempts (corroborated by K.S.A. 40-241, which provides the exam 'may be retaken following a waiting period of not less than seven days from the date of the last attempt'); the examination fee is paid again for each attempt