Exam facts & prep options

Online Proficiency Self-Assessment Test

Find the current format, timing, scoring, fees, eligibility, and testing options for ID Proficiency Test, with direct links to official sources.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringA score of not less than 50% in aggregate is deemed a pass; unlimited attempts permitted
Exam feeNo separate fee published for the test itself; access requires Independent Directors Databank individual registration: INR 5,000 + 18% GST (1-year subscription), INR 15,000 + 18% GST (5 years), or INR 25,000 + 18% GST (lifetime); INR 1,000 + 18% GST to restore a profile disabled for not passing within two years (FAQ also lists INR 1,000 + 18% GST for delayed registration/renewal)

Prep options

Study resources for ID Proficiency Test

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
IICA
Category
Corporate Governance
Current version
Current specification; no public version label
Where it applies
IN — national
Exam languages
English
Format
Online, proctored, taken from home or office (no test centre visit); e-certificate issued on passing
Availability
Two bookable slots per day (afternoon 2:00 PM–3:00 PM and late evening 8:00 PM–9:00 PM) via the databank dashboard; minimum 1-day gap between booked slots
Results
Result and a detailed report generate immediately post-completion (strengths/improvement areas; correct answers not disclosed); e-certificate generated online upon submission for passing candidates
Credential validity
No expiry notified for the pass certificate; subject to future MCA rule changes
Remote testing
Available

Exam structure

Online, remotely proctored multiple-choice test covering four topic areas — Companies Law, Securities Law, Basic Accountancy, and Corporate Governance — based on the 42 eLearning modules in the databank LMS; two bookable slots per day (afternoon 2:00 PM–3:00 PM and late evening 8:00 PM–9:00 PM); item count and time limit are not published in accessible text (scheme published only as an image)

Where rules vary

Statutory Indian requirement: the test operates under section 150(1) of the Companies Act, 2013 and Rule 6 of the Companies (Appointment and Qualification of Directors) Rules, 2014 (as amended), administered through the MCA/IICA Independent Directors Databank; it applies uniformly across India.

Eligibility

Inclusion in the Independent Directors Databank (registration via the MCA portal with DIN/PAN/passport plus databank subscription fee). The test itself is mandatory only for non-exempt individuals: exemption for 3+ years as director/KMP in specified companies/bodies (counted at date of inclusion), specified central/state government director-level or regulator (SEBI/RBI/IRDAI/PFRDA) CGM-level experience, or 10+ years as an advocate, CA, cost accountant, or CS in practice. Non-exempted individuals must pass within 2 years of inclusion or be removed from the databank (one 1-year extension available for INR 1,000 + 18% GST per the 2022 amendment).

Retake policy

No limit on the number of attempts; next slot bookable only 1 day after a failed or missed slot; cannot retake after passing