Exam facts & prep options

Safety Management Professional (SMP) Examination

The Safety Management Professional (SMP) examination is the certification exam of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals for experienced practitioners — eligibility requires ten years of experience with at least 35% of job tasks related to managing safety programs — covering five blueprint domains (management systems, risk management, SH&E concepts, incident investigation and emergency preparedness, and the business case of safety). The computer-based exam is delivered at Pearson VUE test centers worldwide, allows 4.5 hours, and costs USD 350 for a single attempt. The credential was renamed from Safety Management Specialist (SMS) to SMP effective March 3, 2025, with the exam unchanged.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing time4.5 hours
ScoringNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Exam feeUSD 350 examination fee for a single attempt (USD 160 application fee; USD 494 application+exam combo; USD 600 exam bundle with two attempts and one self-assessment; USD 744 application+bundle combo); fees are paid through BCSP, with a USD 100 eligibility extension fee and a USD 170 annual renewal fee

Prep options

Study resources for SMP exam

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
BCSP
Category
Occupational Safety
Current version
SMP2 Examination Blueprint, version V.2025.03
Where it applies
Global
Exam languages
English
Testing provider
Pearson VUE
Format
Computer-based, delivered at Pearson VUE test centers around the world
Availability
Year-round by appointment at Pearson VUE test centers; an exam may be scheduled at any available time after BCSP eligibility approval and payment of the exam authorization fee
Results
Official results are available as soon as the candidate submits the exam
Credential validity
Passing awards the SMP certification, maintained on a 5-year recertification cycle of 25 points (including 0.5 points from ethics courses) plus an annual renewal fee
Remote testing
Not available

Exam structure

One computer-based exam blueprinted across five domains with published weights: Management Systems (21.7%), Risk Management (22.0%), Safety, Health, and Environmental Concepts (24.4%), Incident Investigation and Emergency Preparedness (18.1%), and Business Case of Safety (13.8%); each domain is expressed as Knowledge of and Skill to statements. The total item count is not published.

Where rules vary

Globally accredited certification exam (ANAB-accredited per BCSP's rename announcement) delivered at Pearson VUE test centers around the world

Eligibility

Ten (10) years of experience where at least 35% of job tasks are/were related to the management of safety-related programs, processes, procedures, and/or personnel; no minimum education requirement (N/A); criminal-conviction/license-action disclosure required, and candidates have one (1) year from application approval to take and pass the exam

Retake policy

A retake may be scheduled at any available appointment at least six (6) weeks after the last exam attempt; each attempt requires a new exam purchase (the exam bundle includes two attempts)