Exam facts & prep options

Journeyman Electrician Examination (Texas)

The Journeyman Electrician Examination is the state licensure examination candidates must pass to obtain a Texas Journeyman Electrician license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), delivered through TDLR's third-party vendor PSI at test centers throughout Texas. Effective March 11, 2025, the exam consists of two separate parts: a knowledge portion and a calculations portion. The examination is open book — candidates may reference the National Electrical Code, 2023 Edition (soft-bound copies only) and must bring their own NEC book; electronic notepads are provided. A score of 70% or better is required to pass, and each exam may be retaken as many times as needed, with additional examination fees possible per attempt. The number of questions, time allotted, and examination fee are published only in the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF), not on any official HTML page.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringA score of 70% or better is required to pass; each exam (part) may be retaken as many times as needed, with additional examination fees possible per attempt
Exam feeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Prep options

Study resources for TX Journeyman Electrician Exam

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
TDLR
Category
Electrical Trades
Current version
Current two-part specification effective March 11, 2025 (knowledge portion + calculations portion); no separately versioned exam blueprint is published
Where it applies
US-TX, United States
Exam languages
English, Spanish
Score scale
Percent correct (70% required to pass); no scaled score is published on the HTML pages
Testing provider
PSI Services LLC
Format
Delivered at PSI test centers throughout Texas (16 cities listed by TDLR); PSI's TDLR program page states TDLR certification exams are available online and at approved test centers across Texas; electronic notepads are provided at the examination site
Availability
Year-round by appointment at PSI test centers once TDLR eligibility is issued; applicants have one year from the date the application was received by TDLR to satisfy all licensure requirements, including passing the examination
Results
Grade handed to the candidate at the test center by the PSI proctor after completing the test; results are also sent electronically to TDLR (no action required by the candidate)
Remote testing
Varies by jurisdiction

Exam structure

Two separate parts since March 11, 2025 — a knowledge portion and a calculations portion. The examination is open book: candidates may reference the National Electrical Code, 2023 Edition, and are responsible for bringing their own NEC book (any soft-bound edition of the current TDLR-adopted NEC; loose-leaf, spiral-bound, or ring-bound copies are not allowed in the examination room); electronic notepads are provided at the test site

Where rules vary

Texas state licensing examination required by TDLR for the Journeyman Electrician license; delivered at PSI test locations throughout Texas (Abilene, Amarillo, Arlington, Austin, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Fort Worth, Harlingen, Houston, Lubbock, McAllen, Midland, San Antonio, Tyler, Waco).

Eligibility

At least 7,000 hours of on-the-job training under the supervision of a Master Electrician licensed in Texas (submitting 7,000+ hours allows testing before the full 8,000 hours required for licensure); a completed Journeyman Electrician License Application Form with the non-refundable $30 TDLR application fee must be submitted by mail; TDLR must approve the application before the exam can be scheduled

Retake policy

Unlimited retakes until passing ('You may retake each exam as many times as needed'), but additional examination fees may apply with each attempt; a missed exam date or late arrival forfeits the examination fee