Exam facts & prep options

Fire Service Entrance Examination to the rank of Firefighter (Grade 1)

The national entrance examination for recruitment to the rank of Firefighter (Grade 1) in the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service, administered per recruitment cycle (e.g. the 2026 Main cycle, held Saturday 22nd August, 2026) by the Examinations and Assessment Unit of the Service Commissions Department in AM and PM sessions at school venues across Trinidad and Tobago. Candidates pay an examination fee at a District Revenue Office and must present the payment receipt and photo ID on exam day; applicants must be 18-35 years of age.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Exam feeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Prep options

Study resources for Fire Service Entrance Examination

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
SCD
Category
Fire Service Recruitment
Current version
Administered per recruitment cycle as the '(Main) Fire Service Entrance Examination to the rank of Firefighter (Grade 1)' (current cycle: 2026 Main); no other public version label
Where it applies
TT — national
Exam languages
English
Testing provider
Service Commissions Department — Examinations and Assessment Unit (self-administered; no external testing vendor)
Format
In-person, paper-based written examination (candidates bring their own pen/pencil/ruler/eraser; writing paper is provided; scripts are identified by candidate number, not name) administered at school venues
Availability
Administered on a single national date per recruitment cycle (2026 Main exam: Saturday 22nd August, 2026), with AM and PM sessions assigned by candidate number
Results
Results are issued by mail (TTPOST) or via email; copies of results may be requested only after four weeks from the official dispatch date
Remote testing
Not available

Exam structure

Not publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Where rules vary

National recruitment examination for the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service ('for the rank of Firefighter I within the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service'), administered at venues across Trinidad and Tobago.

Eligibility

Candidates must be between 18 and 35 years of age for the rank of Firefighter I within the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service; admission to the exam requires presenting the payment receipt from the District Revenue Office and valid picture identification

Retake policy

Candidates who miss the scheduled examination may apply for a Supplemental Examination if they received an official Notification Letter, using the request form on the SCD website; illness requires a Medical Certificate submitted by the next working day