Exam facts & prep options

Level II Thermography Certification (Infrared Training Center)

The Infrared Training Center (ITC) Level II / Category II Thermography Certification is the advanced level of ITC's thermographer certification scheme: a four-day (8-hour sessions) live course with hands-on labs that culminates in an electronically administered written/online certification exam requiring a minimum grade of 75%; certification is valid for five years. Aligned to ASNT SNT-TC-1A & CP-105 in North America and ISO 18436-7 / ISO 9712 elsewhere.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringMinimum grade of 75% on the written or online certification exam (applies to all ITC certification-level classes); more than 95% of students pass on the first attempt
Exam feeUSD 2,500 'starting from' tuition for the Level II certification course, which bundles the certification exam (live course instruction, manual, lab exercises, certification exam, and certification document); the exam is not sold separately. Separately-priced related exams: Level II Recertification Exam USD 950 (on-demand), and a USD 595 processing fee for the professional-contribution recertification route.

Prep options

Study resources for ITC Level II Thermography

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
ITC
Category
Industrial Inspection & Testing
Current version
Current specification; no public version label — ITC Level II / Category II Thermography Certification based on established ISO 18436-7 and ASNT CP-105 guidelines (ASNT SNT-TC-1A & CP-105 for North American courses; ISO 18436 & 9712 for courses in Latin America, Europe, and Asia)
Where it applies
Global
Exam languages
English
Testing provider
Infrared Training Center (ITC) — self-administered exam at the end of its own course; no third-party testing vendor
Format
Certification exam administered electronically (laptop or tablet required); the course is delivered live in person at classrooms worldwide or as live virtual online training, plus private onsite options
Availability
Scheduled public course dates worldwide — ITC offers over 600 scheduled training dates at various locations around the world — in classroom, live online, and private onsite formats
Credential validity
ITC certification valid for five years from passing; recertification required on expiration (via course attendance, online recert exam, or professional contributions); a recert exam pass extends certification 5 years from the exam date
Remote testing
Varies by jurisdiction

Exam structure

One written/online certification exam administered electronically at the end of a four-day live course (8-hour sessions each day, 24 CEUs) with hands-on practical lab exercises; certification requires completing all course components — attendance, active lab participation, required training hours — and a passing grade on the final course examination. No separate practical exam is published; hands-on labs are course components.

Where rules vary

A worldwide vendor certification: ITC delivers courses and certification exams globally ('over 600 scheduled training dates at various locations around the world'), with the exam standardised per level; regional standards mapping applies (ASNT SNT-TC-1A & CP-105 for North American courses, BINDT CMGEN appB for UK classes, ISO 18436 & 9712 for Latin America, Europe, and Asia) but the Level II certification itself is uniform.

Eligibility

Level I (Category I) thermography certification required; equivalent certifications from other providers are accepted subject to advance submission and review for alignment with ITC's learning objectives and course standards

Retake policy

Two additional exam sittings after a first failed attempt (three attempts in total) with instructor guidance on focus areas; after three failed attempts the student must reattend another certification course