Exam facts & prep options

AMPP Cathodic Protection Tester (CP1) Theory Examination

The AMPP Cathodic Protection Tester (CP1) certification is an entry-level credential for personnel who observe, record, or measure the effectiveness of cathodic protection systems. Certification requires two exams — a Theory (Written) exam delivered by computer-based testing through Pearson VUE and a hands-on Practical exam administered on the final day of the CP1 course — plus an ethics training requirement and an approved application. The certification is valid for 3 years. Exam languages are English, Spanish, and Chinese. Question count, testing time, and the exam fee are published only in the CP1 Exam Preparation Guide PDFs and the login-gated AMPP portal, not on any accessible ampp.org HTML page.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringNo published numerical pass point: each AMPP certification exam has its own passing score determined by subject matter experts based on the knowledge and skills required for the credential, and there is no set pass rate
Exam feeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Prep options

Study resources for AMPP CP1

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
AMPP
Category
Industrial Inspection & Testing
Current version
Current specification; no public version label
Where it applies
Global
Exam languages
English, Spanish, Chinese
Testing provider
Pearson VUE (administers the computer-based theory exam; Examity provides Remote Online Exam Proctoring and proctors the practice exams)
Format
Theory exam by computer-based testing at a testing center or with a remote proctor; practical exam in person on the final day of the course
Availability
Exam authorizations are valid for one year from issuance or the associated course end date and cover one attempt; the practical exam is tied to the final day of the course
Results
Exam results are provided instantly at completion; the score report includes a Bar Report showing performance by topic
Remote testing
Available

Exam structure

Two exams: a Theory (Written) exam delivered by computer-based testing plus a hands-on Practical exam administered on the final day of the CP1 course; passing both is required for certification

Where rules vary

A single worldwide certification exam specification: AMPP delivers its computer-based exams through Pearson's network in 165 countries and runs CP1 courses internationally; no country-specific variant of the CP1 exam is published.

Eligibility

No prerequisites to take the CP1 course; for certification, candidates must complete the Ethics for the Corrosion Professional course or equivalent training and submit an approved application; six months of CP-related work experience and successful completion of the CP1 course are strongly recommended

Retake policy

First retake may be scheduled 30 days after the initial exam date; all further attempts have a 4-month waiting period; each exam authorization covers one attempt, and a lapsed authorization requires purchasing a replacement exam