Exam facts & prep options

Radiation Therapy Examination (ARRT, primary eligibility pathway)

The ARRT Radiation Therapy Examination is the computer-based primary-certification exam of The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists for radiation therapists, covering Patient Care, Safety, and Procedures content areas per the Radiation Therapy Examination Content Specifications, with unscored pilot questions mixed in; passing requires a scaled score of 75. The application fee is USD 225 (primary pathway). The exam is delivered at Pearson test centers. The total scored-question count and testing time are published only in the Primary Eligibility Pathway Handbook PDF, not on any arrt.org HTML page accessible to this agent.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringA scaled score of 75 is required to pass (scoring scale 1–99); the number of correct answers needed to obtain a 75 varies by exam version because ARRT uses scaled scoring — it is not a percentage. (ARRT began using a new Radiation Therapy cut score on February 1, 2025, still reported as a scaled score of 75 but requiring approximately seven more correct items than the previous 2019 cut score, per ARRT's news article at arrt.org/news/article/2023/08/30/radiation-therapy-cut-score-feb-1-2025.)
Exam feeUSD 225 primary-pathway application fee (Radiation Therapy is the 'T' discipline in the primary category R, N, T, MR, S, VS)

Prep options

Study resources for ARRT Radiation Therapy Exam

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
ARRT
Category
Medical Imaging & Radiation Therapy
Current version
Radiation Therapy Examination Content Specifications — current edition in effect through January 31, 2027; a revised edition (ARRT board-approved changes to content specifications, didactic and clinical competency requirements, and task inventory) is effective February 1, 2027
Where it applies
United States — national
Exam languages
English
Score scale
Scaled scores 1–99 (75 = passing)
Testing provider
Pearson (provides computer-based testing services for ARRT at more than 200 professional test centers in the U.S. and abroad)
Format
Computer-based at Pearson test centers; candidates must answer each question before moving on and can flag difficult questions for review; an 18-minute tutorial and a 2-minute nondisclosure agreement precede the exam
Results
Preliminary scaled score shown at the test center (not the final score); email notification that official results are available in the ARRT online account within about 10 business days; a score-report packet is mailed about two weeks after that notification

Exam structure

One computer-based exam whose scored content is defined by the Radiation Therapy Examination Content Specifications across Patient Care, Safety, and Procedures content areas, plus unscored (pilot) questions that appear randomly throughout the exam and are not distinguishable from scored items (pilot count is 30 under the edition in effect since January 1, 2022, i.e., the edition valid through January 31, 2027); most questions are multiple-choice with one best answer, presented in random order. Per-category scored-item counts are published only in the PDF content specifications and are not stated on any arrt.org HTML page.

Where rules vary

A single national primary certification exam with one content specification and one fee, delivered at Pearson test centers; ARRT certification and registration is a voluntary national credential (states may separately require it or use ARRT state-licensing exams through a distinct state candidacy at state.arrt.org).

Eligibility

Primary eligibility pathway: requirements in education, ethics, and examination — completion of an ARRT-verified educational program in Radiation Therapy, ARRT ethics review, and passing the examination (per the credential page; detailed degree and program rules are in the Primary Eligibility Pathway Handbook PDF)

Retake policy

Three attempts within three years to pass, with the three-year clock starting on the date the initial ARRT exam window opens; after three unsuccessful attempts or three years (whichever comes first), eligibility ends, and primary-pathway candidates regain eligibility by enrolling in and completing an educational program in the discipline again; attempts made as an ARRT-administered state-licensing candidate count toward the limit