Exam facts & prep options

Karnataka Village Administrative Officer (VAO) Exam

Recruitment examination for Village Administrative Officer (VAO, historically 'Village Accountant') posts in the Karnataka Revenue Department, administered by the Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA). The 2026 cycle runs as two parallel cadre recruitments — RPC (rest of state) and KK (Kalyana Karnataka) — each with a detailed notification dated 10-07-2026, and the selection process includes a compulsory Kannada language test in addition to the competitive written examination.

Official exam site
Start preparing1 prep option listed

Jump to prep options ↓

QuestionsNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Testing timeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
ScoringNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.
Exam feeNot publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Prep options

Study resources for Karnataka VAO Exam

Independent prep

Courses and study resources

Exam overview

What to know before choosing your prep

Who runs it
KEA
Category
Civil Service
Current version
2026 recruitment cycle; Detailed Notification dated 10-07-2026 (RPC), amended by notification dated 29-07-2026
Where it applies
IN-KA, IN
Exam languages
Kannada

Exam structure

Not publicly disclosed — The current first-party exam pages and candidate materials cited for this record were reviewed; they do not publish this field.

Where rules vary

Recruitment is run as two parallel cadre notifications — RPC (rest of Karnataka) and KK (Kalyana Karnataka) — with separate detailed notifications both dated 10-07-2026 and separate exam pages; no official source examined indicates the examination itself differs by cadre.